top of page

No. 10 must act on cladding crisis

The Times


Cladding Rally 25.02.20 2.jpg

We call on the government to support leaseholders living in high-rise private buildings who are facing substantial retrospective costs to replace unsafe cladding. No leaseholder should suffer anxiety, facing costs well beyond their ability to pay. Remedial work on these buildings may cost a total of £15bn — nearly 10 times the funds now available. It is estimated 1.5 million flats are unmortgageable, trapping about 3.6 million people in potentially dangerous, unsellable housing.

The government has the responsibility and resources to rescue the living victims of the cladding scandal. Everyone seems to be at fault except those now lumbered with impossible costs.


The government must accurately assess liability for safety remediation costs — which should not fall on the end user, the leaseholder, because of defective legislation. It is time to settle on simple, effective ways at once to remove and replace products that still endanger residents and to end the cladding remediation crisis.

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Justin Madders MP

Sir Edward Davey MP

Diane Abbott MP

Sir David Amess MP

Caroline Ansell MP

John Baron MP

Hillary Benn MP

Crispin Blunt MP

Kevin Brennan MP

Ruth Cadbury MP

Christopher Chope MP

Elliot Colburn MP

Damian Collins MP

Daisy Cooper MP

Janet Daby MP

Allan Dorans MP

Maria Eagle MP

Florence Eshalomi MP

Barry Gardiner MP

Lilian Greenwood MP

Hillary Benn MP

Tom Hunt MP

Kim Johnson MP

Sir Edward Leigh MP

Clive Lewis MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

Caroline Lucas, MP

Tony Lloyd MP

Mark Logan MP

Sir Robert Neill MP

Caroline Nokes MP

Stephen McPartland MP

Ian Mearns MP

Layla Moran MP

Stephen Morgan MP

Sarah Olney MP

Andrew Rosindell MP

Andrew Selous MP

Tommy Sheppard MP

Andrew Slaughter MP

Royston Smith MP

Mark Tami MP

Derek Twigg MP

Dr Phillipa Whitford MP

Baroness Andrews

Lord Bird

Lord Blencathra

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

Lord Best

Lord Curry of Kirkharle

Baroness Deech

Lord German

Lord Grade of Yarmouth

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff

Lord Shinkwin

Paul Bayes, Bishop of Liverpool


Bob Bessell, chairman, Retirement Security Limited

Professor Susan Bright, Oxford University

Lucy Miranda, partner, Brown of Avonwick Group

Andrew Bulmer, chief executive, Institute of Residential Property Management

Adrian Calver, Red Rock Estate and Property Management

Oliver Conway, Oliver Fisher solicitors

Rawdon Crozier, barrister, KBG Chambers

Tim Darwall-Smith, director, Property Management Services

Sarah Dedekis, Bath Leasehold Management

James McDermott, Zenith Management Limited

Andrew Dismore, chair, London, Assembly Fire, Resilience and Emergency Planning Committee

Andrew Eagerton, Hunters RBM

Jonathan Evans, chief executive, Ash & Lacy Holdings Limited

James Farrar, managing partner, JFM Block & Estate Management

Sarah Fisher, director, MIH Property Management Limited

Craig Forrest, head, MLM Property Management

Sara Grixti, Cluttons

Nigel Glen, chief executive, ARMA

Nigel Howell, chief executive, FirstPort

Pauline Jones, chief executive, Jones Associates

Cherry Jones, director, Home from Home Property Management

Katie Kendrick, founder, National Leasehold, Campaign

Sebastian O’Kelly, chief executive, Leasehold Knowledge Partnership

Michael Mansfield QC

Gary Martin, Letters Group

Joe Mallon, partner, JFM Block & Estate Management

Jonathan Miller, Grace Miller & Co Limited

Steve Nightingale, director, Bloq Management Services Limited

Terri-Jade Peters, MLM Management

Murad Qureshi, chair, London Assembly Housing Committee

Daniel Pollard, managing director, Realty Management Limited

Shula Rich, head, Brighton Hove and District Leaseholders Association

Virtus Robin, director, Mitchell Property Management Limited

Steve Rotheram, Metro Mayor, Liverpool City Region

Gillian Stanley, area property manager, Mainstay Group

James Tarr

Kim Taylor, KT Management Company Limited

Nisha Thomas, Horizon Management

David Walker, Bishop of Manchester

Katie Waters, Smith Waters LLP

Alan Williamson, Regalty Estates Limited

Karen Wilson, director, Property Management

Ritu Saha and Will Martin, UK Cladding Action Group

Giles Grover and Rebecca Fairclough, Manchester Cladiators

Abi Tubis, Leeds Cladding Scandal

Jennifer Reid and Brian Simpson, Birmingham Leaseholder Action Group

Natasha Letchford and Jake Ellis, Southampton Cladding Action Group

Julie Fraser, Liverpool Cladiators

Dave Richards, London Cladding Action Group

Lucie Gutfreund, Homeowners of L & Q

Alex Dickin, Ipswich Cladiators

bottom of page